In continuation of my themed posts this year and the fact that we are reading “Novellas in November” (#NovNov23), in this blog post I have highlighted five novella collections that I have greatly enjoyed in recent years and would definitely recommend. I call them novella collections, because these novellas have been grouped together in single editions.

So without further ado, here is the list. You can read the detailed reviews on each by clicking on the title links…

OLD NEW YORK by Edith Wharton

Old New York is a marvellous collection of four novellas set in 19th century New York, each novella encompassing a different decade, from the first story set in the 1840s to the last in the 1870s. All these novellas display the brilliance of Edith Wharton’s writing and are proof of the fact that her keen insights and astute observations on the hypocrisy of New York of her time are second to none. In each of these four novellas, the central characters struggle to adapt to the rigid mores of conventional New York. Thrown into extraordinary situations not aligned to societal expectations, they find themselves alienated from the only world they have ever known.  All the novellas are well worth reading, but the second one – The Old Maid– particularly is the finest of the lot, exquisitely written, and alone worth the price of the book.

NO LOVE LOST: SELECTED NOVELLAS by Rachel Ingalls

No Love Lost is a wonderful collection of eight novellas that have all the hallmarks of Ingalls’s magical, subversive writing à la Mrs Caliban, and yet each is surprising and distinct in its own way.

In “Blessed Art Thou” one of the protagonists, Brother Anselm has an ethereal visitation from the angel Gabriel with the two engaging in an erotic, one-night stand. My favourite “In the Act” is a wonderfully bizarre and comic tale of a toxic marriage that unravels and culminates in a highly unconventional, should I say, threesome. “Something to Write Home About” is another disquieting tale about marital problems, mental illness, and denial unfurling in the mesmeric, haunting beauty of the Greek islands where the blue skies and dazzling sun mask the darker overtones that mark the story.

Ingalls’ writing is sparse and economical; the kind of brevity that creates a sense of urgency and intensity in her narratives. Well-paced, dialogue-heavy, and smartly written, these novellas often take the reader into unexpected territories as the lines between the real and the strange begin to blur. 

LOVE IN A FALLEN CITY by Eileen Chang (Translated from Chinese by Karen S. Kingsbury & Eileen Chang)

Love in a Fallen City is a collection of four novellas and two short stories offering a fascinating glimpse into the lives of people in 1930s/1940s Shanghai and Hong Kong.

I really liked the flavor of the four novellas in this collection accentuated by the fact that Eileen Chang’s writing is elegant and incisive with a lovely way of describing things. She has a flair for painting a detailed picture of the social mores of the time as well as for her perceptive depictions of the inner workings of her characters’ minds. She also highlights the subtle differences between Hong Kong, which has more of a British essence, and Shanghai which is more Chinese.

Ultimately, there is something tragic about the men and women (the latter particularly) in her novellas, a sense of melancholy that leaves its mark on the reader.

THE COPENHAGEN TRILOGY by Tove Ditlevsen (Translated from Danish by Tiina Nunnally & Michael Favala Goldman)

ChildhoodYouthDependency  (together called The Copenhagen Trilogy) are three brilliant, short books that explore the themes of writing, marriage, parenthood, abortion, and drug addiction in a very frank voice. Ditlevsen’s prose is clear, unadorned, and highly absorbing. While Childhood” is intense and gloomy, Youth” is more lighthearted with moments of comedy. Dependency” is the best of the lot, quite unsettling and harrowing in some places. Overall, the trilogy is a remarkable piece of work.

FISH SOUP by Margarita Garcia Robayo (Translated from Spanish by Charlotte Coombe)

Fish Soup is an invigorating collection of novellas and stories that explore the themes of frayed relationships, travel and the opposing forces of sex and desire as against abstinence and self-denial.

The first novella – “Waiting for a Hurricane” – is particularly the highlight where the narrator is dissatisfied with her current life and longs to escape and run away from her dead-end circumstances. The other novella – “Sexual Education” is equally good. As the title suggests, this is a topic that is explored through the eyes of adolescents in a school which strictly preaches the doctrine of abstinence. However, what is taught at school is hardly what goes on outside its confines.

6 thoughts on “Five Excellent Novella Collections

  1. These all sound great. I think I have the Eileen Chang one in my digital TBR but hadn’t realised it was a collection.

    I like the sound of the Edith Wharton volume.

    Like

    1. The Chang is a collection of four novellas and two stories, and it’s an excellent entry point into her work if you haven’t read her before. I don’t remember much of the stories, but the novellas are very good. The Wharton, as always, is wonderful.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed your novella round-up very much. I’ve read three of your five (Love In A Fallen City; Old New York and Copenhagen) and totally agree with your assessment — they were wonderful! Like you, my favorite of the Wharton stories was “The Old Maid.” Fallen City turned me into a real fan of Eileen Chang although I’ve yet to read her other work (with the exception of “Lust, Caution,” which I’d really recommend). I must admit, however, that I saw Fallen City as perhaps, a bit darker than did you: melancholy, yes, but more sexual politics as sexual warfare! Copenhagen was my first exposure to Ditlevson; all three sections were fabulous. It’s interesting, however, that I my reaction was almost the opposite of yours, as I found Childhood more absorbing than the more sensational Dependency; just a matter of personal taste, I suspect. I haven’t yet read anything by Ingalls (my copy of No Love Lost is waiting on me) and I’m totally unfamiliar with Robayo, who’s now on my TBR list!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments Janakay:) Yes, Dependency stayed with me more because I found it genuinely frightening although I agree Childhood is the better book. She’s just brilliant at depicting anxiety and dread in her characters, and even in her short story collection, the stories that dwelled on this fear and anxiety are the ones I remember well.

      I need to read more Eileen Chang too especially since I have collected all the NYRB editions 😀 I had read Lust, Caution years ago but don’t remember much of it, other than a vague feeling that somehow the other stories in the collection weren’t as absorbing as the novella. I will have to reread it though.

      The Ingalls is very good, and if you haven’t read her at all I would suggest reading Mrs Caliban first. It’s another excellent novella.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment